Charles Darwin papers, 1831-1882 1831-1882

ArchivalResource

Charles Darwin papers, 1831-1882, 1831-1882

Charles Darwin papers, 1831-1882 1831-1882

Correspondence of Charles Darwin with his family, Sir William J. Hooker, Sir John W. Lubbock, William Ogle, Daniel Oliver, John Tyndall, and Sir William Ramsay, 1836-1882. (1 reel). Letters to J. Brodie-Innes, W. H. Bates, Lady Dorothy Nevill, and others (1846-1882); also letters to his wife and son and letters and papers about him (1 reel). Letters from Darwin to G. H. K. Thwaites, William B. Tegetmeier, Albany Hancock, Richard Owen, Bernhard Studer, Auguste H. Forel, J. Moulinie, A. Bohrn, Karl Christoph Vogt, François Joseph Pictet de la Rive, and others.

8.0 Microfilm reel(s)

Related Constellations

There are 21 Constellations related to this resource.

Studer, B. (Bernhard), 1794-1887

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w64r00w9 (person)

Ogle, William, 1827-1912

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w63j59q9 (person)

Vogt, Karl Christoph, 1817-1895

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6m63r89 (person)

Forel, Auguste, 1848-1931

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6gq93qg (person)

Brodie-Innes, J. W. (John William), 1848-1923

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6gb48qv (person)

Hooker, William Jackson, Sir, 1785-1865

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6p84b5p (person)

William Jackson Hooker was the premier English botanist of his time. His early interest in natural history was refined to botany by the fortuitous discovery of a rare moss. His education included travels through Europe, after which he became regius professor of botany at Glasgow. He published extensively, and founded and edited several journals; his main interests were ferns, mosses, and fungi, and he was a pioneer of economic botany. He was appointed first director of Kew Gardens, which became ...

Tegetmeier, W. B. (William Bernhard), 1816-1912

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6gt7t4t (person)

Beagle (Ship)

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w64f5xff (corporateBody)

Bohrn, A.

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6sw0css (person)

Pictet de la Rive, Francois Joseph,

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w68f4ss4 (family)

Lubbock, J. W. (John William), 1803-1865

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6r78jpp (person)

English cleric William Buckland worked as a geologist and vertebrate paleontologist. The first Reader of Geology, University of Oxford (from 1819), Buckland is most noted as the scientific discoverer of dinosaurs. From the guide to the William Buckland papers, 1817-1848, 1817-1848, (American Philosophical Society) ...

Darwin, Charles, 1809-1882

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6q63cm5 (person)

Charles Robert Darwin was born on February 12, 1809 in Shrewsbury, England. His father, Robert Waring Darwin (1766-1848), was a physician, the son of Erasmus Darwin (1731-1802), a poet, philosopher, and naturalist. Robert established a successful medical practice in Shrewsbury where he was known for his kindness extended to the poor. He was financially quite successful and willing to support his sons in their various endeavors. Although not a prolific writer, he was elected to the Royal Society ...

Thwaites, George Henry Kendrick 1811-1882

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6jt1n1r (person)

Nevill, Dorothy, Lady, 1826-1913

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6902q93 (person)

Ramsay, William, 1852-1916

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6h132rn (person)

Chemist. Fellow of the Royal Society. From the description of Correspondence with Lord Rayleigh about argon, 1887-1907. (Unknown). WorldCat record id: 155003974 Professor of General Chemistry at University College London, 1887-1912. Fellow of the Royal Society. From the description of Papers, 1870-1916. (Unknown). WorldCat record id: 82743733 English scientist. Winner of Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1904. Discoverer of argon, helium, neon, krypton. ...

Oliver, Daniel, 1830-1916

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6p565wr (person)

Owen, Richard, 1804-1892

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6dn4677 (person)

Richard Owen was a comparative anatomist and palaeontologist. From the description of Letter from Richard Owen to Charles Léopold Laurillard to introduce John Gould, 1833 [manuscript]. [1833] (Libraries Australia). WorldCat record id: 277137992 Professor of the Royal College of Surgeons of London; authority on comparative anatomy, vertebrate paleontology and geology. From the description of Osteological contributions to the natural history of the chimpanzees (Tr...

Bates, William Horatio, 1860-1931

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w60k3s61 (person)

Hancock, Albany, 1806-1873

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6w95tv1 (person)

Tyndall, John, 1820-1893

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6w37zm7 (person)

British physicist. From the description of John Tyndall letters, 1869-1880. (University of California, Berkeley). WorldCat record id: 122454707 Natural philosopher. Fellow of the Royal Society. From the description of Papers. (Unknown). WorldCat record id: 80044015 English natural philosopher. From the description of Autograph letter signed : [London?], to an unidentified correspondent, [no year] Jun. 19. (Unknown). WorldCat record id: 270573...

Moulinié, Jean-Jacques (1830-1872).

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6ht4vcj (person)