Charles Darwin letters ca. 1865-1882


Charles Darwin letters, ca. 1865-1882

Charles Darwin letters ca. 1865-1882

Charles Darwin (1809-1882) was a British naturalist. Bulk of collection consists of copies of letters on scientific topics from Darwin to Fritz Muller. Other recipients include W.W. Bailey, Francis Darwin, Gustavus A. Eisen, and Wilhelm Wollner.

.2 linear foot (1 v.)

Related Constellations

There are 6 Constellations related to this resource.

M├╝ller, Fritz, 1822-1897 (person)

Wollner, Wilhelm, 1851- (person)

Bailey, William Whitman, 1843-1914 (person)

William Whitman Bailey (1843-1914) held the position of botanist on the United States Geological Exploration of the Fortieth Parallel in 1867. Due to ill health, he was replaced in 1877 by Sereno Watson. Bailey went on to teach botany at Brown University becoming Professor of Botany in 1881. He retired in 1906. From the description of William Whitman Bailey papers 1867-1904. (New York Botanical Garden). WorldCat record id: 47060036 From the description of William Whitman Bai...

Eisen, Gustavus A., 1847-1940 (person)

Darwin, Charles, 1809-1882 (person)

Charles Robert Darwin was born on February 12, 1809 in Shrewsbury, England. His father, Robert Waring Darwin (1766-1848), was a physician, the son of Erasmus Darwin (1731-1802), a poet, philosopher, and naturalist. Robert established a successful medical practice in Shrewsbury where he was known for his kindness extended to the poor. He was financially quite successful and willing to support his sons in their various endeavors. Although not a prolific writer, he was elected to the Royal Society ...

Darwin, Francis, Sir, 1848-1925 (person)

Francis Darwin was the son of British naturalist Charles Darwin, and followed his father into the study of botany. Dr. Harkness studied fungi. He was the president of the California Academy of Sciences, 1887-1896. From the description of Autograph letter signed to Dr. Harvey Wilson Harkness, nd. (Unknown). WorldCat record id: 754864475 Francis Galton Darwin was a botanist. From the description of Letters, 1868-1925. (American Philosophical Society Library). World...