Earl of Malmesbury letters to J.T. Batt, 1773-1805.


Earl of Malmesbury letters to J.T. Batt, 1773-1805.

The collection consists of 105 personal letters to Malmesbury's childhood friend and associate John Thomas Batt, most dating from between 1776 and 1784. Major subjects include Malmesbury's persistent financial difficulties and quarrels with his father; his search for a wife with a good dowry and his marriage to Harriet Mary Amyand; and news of and financial provisions for Malmesbury's mistress, "La Petite," and their child. Several letters from 1778 discuss Malmesbury's initial impressions of Russia, Catherine the Great, and the court at St. Petersburg; a letter of 1780 Feb 15/26 contains a detailed description of Catherine's character and administration and complains of slow progress in negotiations.

0.41 linear ft. (1 box)

Related Entities

There are 3 Entities related to this resource.

Malmesbury, James Harris, Earl of, 1746-1820

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6rx9k63 (person)

English diplomat. From the description of Autograph letter signed : Lille, to M. Barrois, jeune, 1797 Aug. 7. (Unknown). WorldCat record id: 270606353 James Harris, first Earl of Malmesbury (1746-1820), was educated at Winchester and at Merton College, Oxford. In the course of his diplomatic and political career he served as ambassador to Russia (1777-83) and The Hague (1784-88) and conducted negotiations with France in 1794-97. From the description of Earl of Ma...

Catherine II, Empress of Russia, 1729-1796

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6k35s7p (person)

Signed by Tsaritsa Catherine II and dated 14 November 1783. From the description of Catherine II Document, 1783. (Columbia University In the City of New York). WorldCat record id: 320410373 Empress of Russia. From the description of Catherine II, Empress of Russia, letter with cover, 1788. (Unknown). WorldCat record id: 71014564 Ruled 1762-1796. From the description of Autograph signature to letter : St. Petersburg, to an Elector, 1786 Feb. 9...

Batt, James Thomas.

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6ws917s (person)