Nash & Taggart collection, 2004-2007.


Nash & Taggart collection, 2004-2007.

The collection consists of 84 recordings of interviews that authors Jere Nash and Andy Taggart conducted with 60 individuals in the process of conducting research for their book Mississippi Politics: The Struggle for Power, 1976-2006 (University Press of Mississippi, 2006) and a subsequent 2008 edition. It also includes transcripts prepared for the authors for 38 of the recordings (warning note: researchers should only use the transcripts as a guide since spelling errors and other inaccuracies are frequent). Interviewees include governors, members of the U.S. Congress, state legislators, state officials, state party leaders, political candidates, staff members, lawyers, and lobbyists. The subject of discussions range from state political parties, national and state elections, individual politicians, educational reform, the state highway program, gambling, tort reform, and reapportionment. Includes references to: John Ed Ainsworth, Bill Allain, Reuben V. Anderson, Haley Barbour, Alvin J. Bronstein, Gil Carmichael, Hodding Carter, Rick Carter, Chales Clark, Eric Clark, Thad Cochran, Peggy Jean Connor, Danny E. Cupit, Maurice Dantin, Patricia M. Derian, Brad Dye, Wayne Edwards, Glenn Endris, Mike Espy, Charles Evers, Tim Ford, Tommy Gollott, Jack Gordon, Lanny Griffith, Lawrence Guyot, Steve Guyton, John H. Holloman, Charles Klumb, Joey Langston, Jerris Leonard, Scott Levanway, John Maxey, Charles McKellar, Leslie Burl McLemore, Neil R. McMillen, Buddy Medlin, Dick Molpus, Bob Montgomery, Mike Moore, William D. Mounger, Steve Patterson, John Pennebaker, Ed Perry, Crymes G. Pittman, Billy Powell, Clarke Reed, Jack Reed, Dickie Scruggs, Bill Spell, Gene Triggs, Sam Wagoner, Johnnie Walls, Thomas H. Walman, David Watkins, William F. Winter, Wirt A. Yerger, Joe Zucarro.



SNAC Resource ID: 8088047

University of Mississippi

Related Entities

There are 7 Entities related to this resource.

Espy, Mike, 1953- (person)

Alphonso Michael Espy (born November 30, 1953) is an American politician who served as the 25th United States Secretary of Agriculture from 1993 to 1994. He was both the first African American and first person from the Deep South to hold the position. A member of the Democratic Party, Espy previously served as the U.S. Representative for Mississippi's 2nd congressional district from 1987 to 1993. In March 2018, Espy announced his candidacy for the United States Senate seat being vacated by Th...

Taggart, Andy (person)

Nash, Jere (person)

Mississippi. Legislature (corporateBody)

United States. Congress (corporateBody)

Bills of the 96th Congress to provide for temporary increases in the public debt limit, and for other purposes. From the description of Public debt legislation, 96th Congress : legislative history of public debt legislation, 1979-1980. (Louisiana State University). WorldCat record id: 243776779 Bill of the 96th Congress to impose a windfall profit tax on domestic crude oil, and for other purposes. From the description of Crude oil windfall profit tax act of 1980 ...

Winter, William F., 1899-1939 (person)

Barbour, Haley, 1947- (person)