Commonplace book and diary, 1850-1863.

ArchivalResource

Carrington family. Commonplace book and diary, 1850-1863.

Commonplace book and diary, 1850-1863.

Francis Carrington's commonplace book (volume 1, 62 pages of text) records events spanning the period 1851-63. The volume consists of three types of information: lists of items used to prepare clothes for her family; genealogical information on the Carringtons and Satterles; and a "Ladies Perpetual Calender." Robert Raymond Carrington's diary (volume 2, 187 p.) spans the years 1850 and 1851. The daily entries note his social life, primarily parties and theatre in New York City and Brooklyn, and his work as a volunteer fireman in Brooklyn. He often mentions Dan and Fanny, as well as other family members. The diary records a July 1850 trip by steamer up the Hudson River to Montreal, southwest on the St. Lawrence, with a stop at Niagara Falls, and finally by train back home. In late 1850, Carrington went by sea via Panama to San Francisco. Once in California, he notes ship departures and arrivals in his diary. The shipping business seems to be the reason he traveled to California. Carrington visited the mines in Sonora and Nevada, and late in 1851 returned home by sea.

2 v.; 0.75 linear ft.

Related Constellations

There are 13 Constellations related to this resource.

Crescent City (Steamer)

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w66t78hn (corporateBody)

Halsey, E. C.

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6129wwn (person)

Carrington, John C.

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w60c6fdn (person)

Carrington, John W., fl. 1816-1829.

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w67h5mz2 (person)

Carrington, Francis Mary Satterlee, b. 1827.

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6fz1dv2 (person)

Hyde, Zebulon S.

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6jm6djd (person)

Carrington, Robert Raymond, 1827-1857.

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6c57ppv (person)

Carrington, Sarah Mills, b. 1829.

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6wh6snc (person)

Carrington, Daniel Noble, b. 1823.

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6w138fh (person)

Satterly family.

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6677nz5 (family)

Owen, James A.

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w651656r (person)

Oregon City (Ship)

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6s24qcs (corporateBody)

Carrington family.

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6m42497 (family)

Francis Mary Satterlee Carrington (b. 1827), was born in Albany, New York. In 1851, she married Daniel Noble Carrington (born in Clinton, Georgia, 1823) of Brooklyn, New York. Robert Raymond Carrington (1827-1857), lived in Brooklyn, New York, and worked in a store there. He was Francis's brother-in-law. From the description of Commonplace book and diary, 1850-1863. (Unknown). WorldCat record id: 702132912 ...