Collection of Morton Feldman manuscripts, 1961-1969.


Feldman, Morton, 1926-1987. Collection of Morton Feldman manuscripts, 1961-1969.

Collection of Morton Feldman manuscripts, 1961-1969.

The collection consists of 79 works by Morton Feldman in either score or part formats (72 scores; 7 sets of parts). All but one item are ink manuscripts on vellum. These served as the masters that Feldman submitted to C.F. Peters and Peters published directly from these masters. Almost all of the manuscripts are in Morton Feldman's hand, except for two scores copied by John Cage and three items in the hand of a music copyist. Some items are accompanied by the folders in which they were housed at C.F. Peters. The folders contain brief information about number of copies created and instructions for printing parts. As such, the collection provides a history of the music publishing process rather than anything about the musical genesis of the works. The original manuscripts for the works in the collection, if extant, are housed in the Paul Sacher Stiftung in Basel, Switzerland.

3 boxes (79 items)

Related Entities

There are 2 Entities related to this resource.

Feldman, Morton, 1926-1987 (person)

Composer Morton Feldman (1926-1987) was best known for his association with the New York School of experimentalist musicians, including composers John Cage, Christian Wolff, and Earle Brown, and pianist David Tudor. In addition to composing approximately 150 works, Feldman also wrote more than three dozen articles about various aspects of music and art. Feldman was a member of the music department faculty at the State University of New York at Buffalo from 1972-1987. During those years he served...

C.F. Peters Corporation (corporateBody)