Bishop Hamilton Hyde Kellogg files, 1919-1971 (bulk 1952-1971).


Bishop Hamilton Hyde Kellogg files, 1919-1971 (bulk 1952-1971).

Kellogg's papers document his activities and interests as bishop coadjutor (1952-1956) and bishop (1956-1970) of the Diocese of Minnesota, including diocesan administration, finances, organizations, education, social concerns, schools, and parishes.

23.0 cu. ft. (23 boxes).


SNAC Resource ID: 7315738

Minnesota Historical Society Library

Related Entities

There are 11 Entities related to this resource.

Carleton College (Northfield, Minn.) (corporateBody)

Carleton was founded on October 12, 1866, by the General Conference of the Congregational Churches of Minnesota, which—after considering locations in Zumbrota, Mantorville, Cottage Grove, and Lake City—chose Northfield for the home of its new college. Carleton’s founder was Northfield businessman and Congregationalist Charles M. Goodsell, for whom the College’s observatory is named. It was he who encouraged the church to open a Minnesota college and he who donated part of its original 20 acre...

Seabury-Western Theological Seminary (corporateBody)

Episcopal Church. Diocese of Minnesota. Bishop and Council. (corporateBody)

Saint Mary's Hall (Faribault, Minn.) (corporateBody)

Anglican Congress 1954 Minneapolis, Minn. (corporateBody)

Saint James School (Faribault, Minn.) (corporateBody)

Shattuck School (corporateBody)

Episcopal Church. Diocese of Minnesota (corporateBody)

Frederick Ferdinand "Fritz" Kramer began his service in the Diocese of Minnesota in 1953 with his appointment as vicar in charge of the Samuel Memorial Mission, Naytahwaush, and of St. Philip's Church, Rice Lake. Following the retirement of Frederick K. Smythe, he rose to the positions of archdeacon in charge of Indian work in Minnesota and dean of the Cass Lake Deanery (1956). In 1960 he was removed as vicar of the two individual parishes, and the post of dean to the Northwest Deanery was added...

Kellogg, Hamilton Hyde, 1899-1977 (person)

Breck School (corporateBody)

Breck School has its origins in Wilder (Jackson County), Minnesota where, through the efforts of the Rev. David Griffin Gunn, it was incorporated as an Episcopalian school in 1886 under the name Breck Mission and Farm School. The school was named for Episcopalian missionary and educator James Lloyd Breck (1818-1876), who had been active in Minnesota during the 1850-1867 period. It received its first students (nine boys and ten girls) in 1888, and was attended largely by farm childre...

Episcopal Church (corporateBody)

In 1982, the General Convention of the Church deleted the words "Protestant" and "in the United States of America" from the official title of the Church, making it the Episcopal Church. From the description of Records of the Protestant Episcopal Church of the United States of America, Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society, 1823-1975 (inclusive). (Yale University). WorldCat record id: 702152635 ...