Letters from England, 1837-1838.


Letters from England, 1837-1838.

Records the trip that Thomas Sully and Blanche took to London. The two volumes include copies of 14 letters from each of the two to their family in Philadelphia. The letterbooks were compiled by Jane Sully, another of Thomas Sully's daughters; the original letters have apparently been lost. Each letter is lengthy and full of detail about where the Sullys lived in London; encounters with the British art establishment of the 1830s and with other American artists; dining with members of the Audubon family; a trip to France; portrait commissions, including the one negotiated with Queen Victoria; viewing art exhibitions; the experiences of a young woman abroad for the first time; and domestic considerations concerning clothing and the household routine. Also included is a plan of the rooms of the house on Great Marlborough St. in London, where Sully and Blanche stayed in 1838.

2 v. (274 p.) ; 20 cm.


SNAC Resource ID: 7155482

Winterthur Library

Related Entities

There are 12 Entities related to this resource.

Sully, Blanche, 1814-1898.

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w66h5fx7 (person)

Painter; daughter of Thomas Sully. From the description of Letter : Philadelphia, to John Sartain, [18--] May 23 and June 14. (Bryn Mawr College). WorldCat record id: 28489839 ...

Victoria, Queen of Great Britain, 1819-1901

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w66n3wvb (person)

Queen Victoria was the only child of Prince Edward, Duke of Kent and Strathearn and Princess Victoria of Saxe-Coburg-Saalfeld. She was born on May 24, 1819 at Kensington Palace in London and she became heir to the throne when her father died. In 1837, she became Queen at the age of 18. During the early part of her reign, she was influenced by two men: her first Prime Minister, Lord Melbourne, and then her husband, Prince Albert, whom she married in 1840. Both men taught her much about how to be ...

Darley, W. H. W.

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6cj9bzv (person)

Sully, Thomas, 1783-1872

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6pv6mgn (person)

Artist Thomas Sully was born in London, although his actor parents soon emigrated to the United States. A trip back to England to study painting expanded his horizons, and upon his return to the United States he developed a reputation as a first rate painter. He specialized in portraits, especially portraits of women, and painted full-length portraits of many public and private figures. He is perhaps most closely associated with his portrait of Queen Victoria and for his painting, Washington cro...

Audubon, John James, 1785-1851

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6m32tvb (person)

Naturalist, ornithologist, and artist, known for his Birds of America. From the description of Letters received, 1831-1853. (Buffalo History Museum). WorldCat record id: 56506202 Audubon was an American artist and ornithologost. From the guide to the John James Audubon letters and drawings, 1805-1892 (inclusive), 1805-1847 (bulk)., (Houghton Library, Harvard College Library, Harvard University) John James Audubon was a painter and ornithologist. Born in ...

Sully, Jane Cooper, 1807-1877.

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6zc91p3 (person)

Audubon, Victor Gifford, 1809-1860

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6736wm4 (person)

Victor Gifford Audubon, son of the naturalist and illustrator John James Audubon, served as business manager for his father, and worked to promote and sell his father's works. From the description of Victor Gifford Audubon collection, 1845-1859. (Unknown). WorldCat record id: 80153832 From the description of Victor Gifford Audubon collection, 1845-1859. (Unknown). WorldCat record id: 702152756 Victor Gifford Audubon, son of the illustrator and naturalist John James ...

Wilkie, David, Sir, 1785-1841

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6sf2t6t (person)

Sir David Wilkie (1785-1841) was a Scottish painter who was appointed painter in ordinary in 1830 and received a knighthood in 1836. For full details of his life and work see the Dictionary of National Biography . From the guide to the Correspondence of Sir David Wilkie, with related material, ca. 1806-1849, (GB 206 Leeds University Library) Sir David Wilkie was a painter born in 1785. He was educated under John Strachan, studied in Edinburgh, 1799-1804. He came to London in...

Turner, J. M. W. (Joseph Mallord William), 1775-1851

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6057d6v (person)

J.M.W. Turner was an English artist and member of the Royal Academy. From the description of Brighton Cricket Ground [art original] [ca. 1824?]. (Haverford College Library). WorldCat record id: 58463878 Nationality: English. From the description of Rockets and Blue Lights (Close at Hand) to Warn Steamboats of Shoal Water [electronic resource]. 1840. (Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute). WorldCat record id: 222503272 British painter. Fr...

Sully family.

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w69m3842 (family)

Audubon, Lucy Green Bakewell, 1788-1874

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6qc05bp (person)

Wife of American naturalist John James Audubon. From the description of Autograph letter signed : place not specified, to Mrs. Phillips, undated. (Unknown). WorldCat record id: 766062082 From the description of Autograph letter signed : place not specified, to William Page Phillips, undated. (Unknown). WorldCat record id: 766059521 From the description of Autograph letter signed : Louisville, Kentucky, to [John Adamson], 1832 Jan. 2. (Unknown). WorldCat record id: 7...

Landseer, Edwin Henry, Sir, 1802-1873

http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w63n22d8 (person)

English artist noted for his depictions of animals and as a sculptor for the lions in Trafalgar Square, London.Thomas Boys was a English engraver and artist. From the description of [Letter] 1817 Apr., St. Johns Wood [to] Thos. Boys / E. Landseer. (Smith College). WorldCat record id: 244252355 English painter. From the description of Autograph letter signed : "St. John's Wood" [London], to Catherine Dickens, 1856 June 16. (Unknown). WorldCat record id: 270597964 ...