Records, 1952-1958.


Records, 1952-1958.

Correspondence, minutes, statute drafts, amended articles, and statements of President Jones and University Committees relating to the development by the Special Committee of new policies and procedures regarding academic freedom. Includes material relating to the cases of professors Abraham Glasser, Moses I. Finley, and Simon W. Heimlich, who resigned or were dismissed following their invokation of the Fifth Amendment in refusal to testify before Congressional subcommittees in regard to their possible Communist Party affiliations, including documentation of Glasser's 1956 demand of a new hearing by the Board of Governors, drafts and the final report of a Special Committee, consisting of Board Members Bigelow, Federal Judge Philip Forman, and Mrs. Ruth W. Hickman, formed to respond to Glasser's new charges against the University, and the Statement of the Board of Governors Regarding Glasser, written by Tracy S. Voorhees, a member of the former Board of Trustees, which provided background on the cases and justified the University's actions; material relating the the censure of Rutgers by the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) and the American Association of Law Schools (AALS); and documentation of. Glasser's demand of a new hearing by the Board of Governors.

2 v. (1 manuscript box)


SNAC Resource ID: 6749695

Rutgers University

Related Entities

There are 12 Entities related to this resource.

Rutgers University (corporateBody)

From July 12 to July 17, 1967, the city of Newark, New Jersey, was wrecked by racial violence. In six days of rioting, 23 people were killed, 725 were injured and nearly 1,500 were arrested. Property damage was estimated at over $10 million. While the riots were still in progress, sixty community leaders formed a Committee of Concern with the following aims: to help restore calm to the city, to study the causes of racial unrest, and to formulate goals for social and economic improve...

American Association of University Professors (corporateBody)

The national chapter of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) was organized in 1915 to advance academic freedom, shared governance and to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education. The first meeting of the AAUP at Central Washington University was held on October 14, 1954. Regular monthly meetings were held during the academic year to address faculty concerns with administrative decision-making and participative governance. Central Washington Un...

Glasser, Abraham (person)

Hickman, Ruth W. (person)

Association of American law schools (corporateBody)

Finley, M.I. (Moses I.), 1912-1986 (person)

Forman, Philip. (person)

Jones, Lewis Webster, 1899-1975 (person)

Rutgers University. Governors. Special Committee on Academic Freedom and Tenure. (corporateBody)

Judge John Bigelow was chairman of the Board of Governors Special Committee on Academic Freedom and Tenure, which was to formulate new University statutes on academic freedom and tenure following the replacement of the Board of Trustees by the Board of Governors in September 1956 as the new governing body of the University. The rewriting of University statutes was facilitated in large part by the impending and eventual censure of Rutgers by the American Association of University Pro...

Bigelow, John O. (person)

Heimlich, Simon W. (person)

Rutgers University. Board of Trustees (corporateBody)

The Board of Trustees was established by the charter of Queens College in 1766. Members of the Reformed Dutch Church requested the establishment of this college in order to educate and prepare young men for the ministry. The Board of Trustees had the responsibility for the direction of all college activities. Its duties included granting and conferring honorary degrees, nominating and appointing as well as dismissing faculty, nominating and electing new board members, purchasing and...