Shostakovich, Dmitri

Alternative names
Birth 1906-09-25
Death 1975-08-09
English, Russian

Biographical notes:

Nos. 20, 7, 21, 14 and 6, respectively, of Twenty Four Preludes for Piano, op. 34, composed 1932-33. Arranged 1936.--Cf. Fleisher Collection.

From the description of Five preludes : from 24 piano preludes by D. Shostakovich, op. 34 (nos. 20, 7, 21, 14, 6) / arr. by Lan Adomian. [19--] (Franklin & Marshall College). WorldCat record id: 54108995

From the opera, "The nose" in 3 acts with libretto by the composer in conjunction with Y. Zemyatin, G. Ionin and A. Preys after Gogol's short story of the same name. Composed 1927-28. World premiere of complete opera took place at the Malïy Opera Theatre in Leningrad, 18 January 1930, with the resident orchestra conducted by Samuil Samosud (1884-1964).The premiere of a seven movement suite (op. 15a) took place on 25 November, 1928 in the Bolshoi Hall of the Moscow Conservatory by the Sovfil (Soviet Philharmonia) Orchestra conducted by Nikolai Malko (1883-1961). A private unstaged performance of excerpts took place with the resident orchestra at the Malïy Opera Theatre in Leningrad on 29 June 1929 for delegates of the All-Russian Musical Conference who had convened there. Three movements (Overture, Entr'acte [Act 2] and Galop) from the seven movement Suite, Op. 15a, were performed in July 1929 in Buenos Aires, Argentina, Nikolai Malko conductor.--Cf. Fleisher Collection.

From the description of Si︠u︡ita iz opery Nos = Die Nase suite, op. 15 / D. Shostakovich. [between 1928 and 1937] (Franklin & Marshall College). WorldCat record id: 54108970


From the description of Dmitrii Shostakovich autograph letter to Mikhailovich Bogdanov-Berezovsky, 1925 Aug. 7. (Unknown). WorldCat record id: 405121971

From the description of Dmitriĭ Dmitrievich Shostakovich autograph letter to Elushka Valenka, 1924 Apr. 3. (Unknown). WorldCat record id: 373133598

From the description of Dmitriĭ Dmitrievich Shostakovich letter to unidentified recipient, 1962 Jan. 30. (Unknown). WorldCat record id: 476902840

From the choreographic spectacle in 3 acts to a libretto by V. Smirnov. Ballet composed 1930-31. First performance Leningrad State Theater, 8 April 1931. This is only one of at least 2 suites drawn from the ballet, the other one (in 8 movements listed as op. 27a) extracted in 1931. In the present version, the many optional brass instruments in the instrumentation make up an optional band used only in the Finale.--Cf. Fleisher Collection.

From the description of Suite de ballet the "Bolt" / Shostakovitsch, D. [193-?] (Franklin & Marshall College). WorldCat record id: 54108701

Text is by Yevgeni Yevtushenko. Composed 1961. First performance Moscow, 18 December 1962, Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra, basses of the Republican State Choir and the choir of the Gnessin Institute, Kiril Kondrashin conductor, Vitaly Gromadsky bass.--Cf. Fleisher Collection.

From the description of Symphony no. 13 : for bass solo, male chorus, and orchestra, op. 113 / Dmitri Shostakovich ; words by Evgeny Yevtushenko. [197-] (Franklin & Marshall College). WorldCat record id: 54109171

Epithet: composer

British Library Archives and Manuscripts Catalogue : Person : Description : ark:/81055/vdc_100000000210.0x000392


Loading Relationships


Ark ID:


  • Suites (Orchestra)--Scores and parts
  • Dance music--Scores and parts
  • Orchestral music, Arranged--Scores and parts
  • Sonatas (Viola and piano)
  • Concertos (Violoncello)--Solo with piano
  • Composers--Correspondence
  • Viola and piano music
  • Wind quintets (Bassoon, clarinet, flute, horn, oboe), Arranged--Parts
  • String orchestra music, Arranged--Scores
  • Motion picture music--Excerpts--Scores and parts
  • Marches (Orchestra), Arranged--Scores and parts
  • Symphonies--Scores and parts
  • Ballets--Excerpts--Scores and parts
  • Music--Manuscripts
  • Opera--Excerpts--Scores and parts
  • Music--Manuscripts--Facsimiles
  • Choruses, Secular (Men's voices) with orchestra--Scores and parts
  • Operas--Excerpts, Arranged--Scores and parts
  • Polkas


  • Composers


  • Soviet Union (as recorded)