Doren, Electra Collins, 1861-1927.

Hide Profile

In Ohio, the Suffrage movement developed slowly. Women were first organized in April of 1850 in Salem, Ohio; after the Civil War the Ohio State Woman's Suffrage Association was organized with Mrs. Frances M. Casement from Cleveland as the first President. In Dayton a Woman's Suffrage Association was first formed Jan. 2, 1869, and Judge Samuel Boltin was elected President. The life of this organization was short, however. On June 11, 1912, the Woman's Suffrage Party of Montgomery County was organized. Mrs. Oscar F. Davisson was the first President, and she remained in office until 1920 when the 19th amendment was ratified.

The League of Women Voters was introduced by Carrie Chapman Catt. The formal organization of the National League of Women Voters took place in Chicago on Feb. 14, 1920. The Dayton League of Women Voters came into existence in 1921. The first President of this organization was Mrs. Minnie M. Stanley (1920-32). The organization was involved in a number of programs and studies and is still in existence.

From the description of Women's Suffrage Collection 1867-1990. (Dayton Metro Library). WorldCat record id: 31772502

Archival Resources
Role Title Holding Repository
creatorOf Doren, Electra Collins, 1861-1927. Women's Suffrage Collection 1867-1990. Dayton Metro Library
Role Title Holding Repository
Relation Name
associatedWith Davisson, Jessie. person
associatedWith League of Women Voters of Dayton (Ohio) corporateBody
associatedWith League of Women Voters of the Greater Dayton Area, Ohio corporateBody
associatedWith Stanley, Minnie M. person
associatedWith Upton, Harriet Taylor. person
associatedWith Woman's Suffrage Association of Montgomery County, Ohio corporateBody
Place Name Admin Code Country
Dayton (Ohio)
Ohio--Montgomery County
Women's rights


Birth 1861

Death 1927

Related Descriptions


Ark ID: w65t3khj

SNAC ID: 19066394