Royal Edinburgh Hospital for Sick Children

Hide Profile

Opened in 1860 as Edinburgh Hospital for Sick Children, and received Royal patronage in 1863. It was originally situated in the Lauriston Lane area then moved to current building in Sciennes Road designed by G Washington Brown, 1895. Muirfield Convalescent Home opened in 1909. In 1948 it became part of the Edinburgh Central Hospitals of South Eastern Regional Hospital Board and in 1974-1984, part of South Lothian District of Lothian Health Board. It is now known as Edinburgh Sick Children's NHS Trust Hospital.

From the guide to the Royal Edinburgh Hospital for Sick Children, 1859-1992, (Lothian Health Services Archive, University of Edinburgh)

Archival Resources
Role Title Holding Repository
creatorOf Royal Edinburgh Hospital for Sick Children, 1859-1992 Lothian Health Servces Archive, University of Edinburgh
referencedIn Papers of Douglas Guthrie (1885-1975), 1864-1967 Edinburgh University Library
referencedIn Papers of the Lothian Surgical Audit, 1946-1997, 2014 Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh
Role Title Holding Repository
Relation Name
associatedWith Lothian Surgical Audit person
associatedWith Muirfield Convalescent Home 1909- corporateBody
associatedWith Royal Edinburgh Hospital for Sick Children 1860- corporateBody
Place Name Admin Code Country
Subject
Children Hospitals Edinburgh (Scotland)
Occupation
Activity

Corporate Body

Related Descriptions
Information

Permalink: http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6m76j6d

Ark ID: w6m76j6d

SNAC ID: 75720289