Fitelberg, Jerzy

Variant names

Hide Profile

Composed 1929.--Cf. Fleisher Collection.

From the description of Der Schlecht gefesselte Prometheũs : Konzert-Sũite / Jerzy Fitelberg. 1929. (Franklin & Marshall College). WorldCat record id: 51794021

The composer Jerzy Fitelberg (1903-1951) was born in Warsaw, Poland. His father, Grzegorz Fitelberg, was a composer and the conductor of the Warsaw Philharmonic until the Second World War. Jerzy began music training at the Conservatory of Warsaw, then studied with Franz Schreker and Walter Gmeindl from 1922 to 1926 at the Academy of Music in Berlin, where he remained until 1932. In 1928 his String Quartet No. 2 won first prize in a competition sponsored by the Polish government in Paris, and in 1936 he won the Library of Congress's Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge chamber music medal for his String Quartet No. 4; The piece was premiered at a chamber music festival at the Library in 1937. The success he gained as a young composer was marked by numerous performances at festivals, including those of the International Society for Contemporary Music in 1932 and 1937. From 1933 to 1940 Fitelberg lived in Paris, after which he moved to New York. The American Academy of Arts and Letters awarded him a grant in 1945, and in 1950 his Suite for Organ won a composition prize from the Pennsylvania College for Women. That same year the Koussevitsky Foundation commissioned his last work, Concertino Da Camera for Violin and Piano, which he completed two days before his death.

Fitelberg's work includes music for chamber groups, chamber orchestra, full orchestra, an opera and a choral work, as well as scores for two films. He also wrote articles for the journal Modern Music.


Boguslaw Schaeffer. "Fitelberg, Jerzy." In Grove Music Online. Oxford Music Online, (accessed March 27, 2012).

"Jerzy Fitelberg, 48, A Polish Composer," The New York Times, April 27, 1951, p. 23.

From the guide to the Jerzy Fitelberg papers, 1921-1952, (The New York Public Library. Music Division.)

Archival Resources
Role Title Holding Repository
creatorOf Fitelberg, Jerzy, 1903-1951. Sept caprices : pour violon et piano : d'après Le tambourin de Jean-Philippe Rameau : 1944 / Jerzy Fitelberg. University of Houston, M.D. Anderson Library
referencedIn Frenkel, Stefan, 1902-1979. Stefan Frenkel papers, ca. 1860s, 1914-1970 (bulk 1914-1970). New York Public Library System, NYPL
referencedIn Edward and Clara Steuermann Collection, 1922-1981, (bulk 1930-1980) Library of Congress. Music Division
referencedIn Rudolf Kolisch papers, 1886-1978. Houghton Library
referencedIn Stefan Frenkel papers, ca. 1860s, 1914-1970, 1914-1970 The New York Public Library. Music Division.
creatorOf Fitelberg, Jerzy, 1903-1951. Der Schlecht gefesselte Prometheũs : Konzert-Sũite / Jerzy Fitelberg. Free Library of Philadelphia, Parkway Central Library
referencedIn Aaron Copland Collection, 1841-1991, (bulk 1911-1990) Library of Congress. Music Division
creatorOf Fitelberg, Jerzy, 1903-1951. Sinfonietta for orchestra, 1946 / Jerzy Fitelberg. Library of Congress
referencedIn Stefan Auber papers, 1920-1982 The New York Public Library. Music Division.
creatorOf Jerzy Fitelberg papers, 1921-1952 The New York Public Library. Music Division.
creatorOf Fitelberg, Jerzy, 1903-1951. Sonata in four movements for 'cello / Jerzy Fitelberg. University of North Carolina at Greensboro, University Libraries, UNCG University Libraries
referencedIn Koussevitzky, Serge, 1874-1951. Serge Koussevitzky Archive, 1920-1976 (bulk: 1924-1951) Library of Congress. Music Division
referencedIn Józef Wittlin correspondence and compositions, 1940-1976. Houghton Library
referencedIn Nicolas Slonimsky Collection, 1873-1997, (bulk 1920-1990) Library of Congress. Music Division
Role Title Holding Repository
Relation Name
associatedWith American Academy of Arts and Letters corporateBody
associatedWith Auber, Stefan person
associatedWith Copland, Aaron, 1900-1990 person
associatedWith Fitelberg, Grzegorz, 1879-1953 person
associatedWith Frenkel, Stefan, 1902-1979. person
correspondedWith Kolisch, Rudolf, 1896-1978 person
correspondedWith Koussevitzky, Serge, 1874-1951 person
associatedWith Noskowski, Zygmunt, 1846-1909 person
correspondedWith Slonimsky, Nicolas, 1894-1995 person
associatedWith Spitzmüller, Alexander, 1862-1953 person
associatedWith Steuermann, Edward person
associatedWith Szałowski, Antoni, 1907-1973 person
associatedWith Szymanowski, Karol, 1882-1937 person
correspondedWith Wittlin, Józef, 1896- person
Place Name Admin Code Country
Sonatas (Violoncello)
Suites (Orchestra)
Violin and piano music


Birth 1903-05-20

Death 1951-04-25




Ark ID: w6rv1qr6

SNAC ID: 57414202