University of Pennsylvania. Dept. of Religious Studies.

Hide Profile

The College of Arts and Sciences of the University of Pennsylvania established the program of Religious Thought and appointed Edwin E. Aubrey as its first chairman in 1949. The program developed into a department in 1960 under the chairmanship of Claude Welch, who remained chairman until 1971. Succeeding Welch from 1971 to 1983 were Van A. Harvey (1971-1976), and Robert Kraft (1977-1983). Robert F. Evans was chairman of the graduate program from 1971 until his death in 1974. The department's name changed to Religious Studies in 1977.

From the description of Records, 1957-1984. (University of Pennsylvania). WorldCat record id: 122492369

Archival Resources
Role Title Holding Repository
creatorOf University of Pennsylvania. Dept. of Religious Studies. Records, 1957-1984. University of Pennsylvania, Archives & Records Center
Role Title Holding Repository
Relation Name
associatedWith American Society of Church History. corporateBody
associatedWith Aubrey, Edwin E., 1896-1956. person
associatedWith Crozer Theological Seminary corporateBody
associatedWith Evans, Robert. person
associatedWith Harvey, Van Austin. person
associatedWith Kraft, Robert. person
associatedWith University of Pennsylvania. Academic Planning Committee. corporateBody
associatedWith University of Pennsylvania. University Council. Committee on Undergraduate Admissions. corporateBody
associatedWith Welch, Claude. person
Place Name Admin Code Country
Religion--Study and teaching (Higher)

Corporate Body

Active 1957

Active 1984

Related Descriptions


Ark ID: w6s23q0g

SNAC ID: 24611582