Flanagan, Richard, 1961-....

Alternative names

Hide Profile

Author. Richard Flanagan made his literary debut with the novel Death of a river guide (1994) which achieved immediate success winning a number of Australian literary prizes including the 1996 National Fiction Award. Flanagan's second novel, The sound of one hand clapping (1997), also received high critical acclaim and won both the 1999 Australian Booksellers Book of the Year award and the Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction. Flanagan continued his success with a third novel Gould's book of fish: a novel in twelve fish (2001) which was awarded the 2002 Commonwealth Writers' Prize. Flanagan's later novels include The unknown terrorist, and, Wanting, both published in 2008.

From the description of Papers of Richard Flanagan, circa 1989-1998 [manuscript]. [ca. 1989-1998] (Libraries Australia). WorldCat record id: 463710641

Archival Resources
Role Title Holding Repository
creatorOf Flanagan, Richard, 1961-. Papers of Richard Flanagan, circa 1989-1998 [manuscript]. Libraries Australia
Role Title Holding Repository
Direct Relationships
Relation Name
Place Name Admin Code Country
Authors, Australian--20th century--Archives
Novelists, Australian--20th century--Archives


Birth 1961




Permalink: http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6z93f95

Ark ID: w6z93f95

SNAC ID: 1593319