Church of England Protection Society

Hide Profile

The Church of England Protection Society was formed in 1859, and was renamed the English Church Union in 1860, when it incorporated several local Church societies. Its object was to defend and propagate High Church principles. In 1934 the English Church Union was united with the Anglo-Catholic Congress to form the Church Union. The organisation continues to be administered from Faith House, Westminster, and to publish books, tracts and magazines. The Anglo-Catholic Congress was first held in London in 1920 and continued to meet in different locations around England until the 1950s. It incorporated a number of smaller organisations, including the Fiery Cross Association (1920s-1930s), Catholic Literature Association (1890s-1920s) and Pilgrimage Association (1920s-1930s).

From the guide to the Papers of the Church Union, 1848-1987, (Lambeth Palace Library)

Archival Resources
Role Title Holding Repository
creatorOf Papers of the Church Union, 1848-1987 Lambeth palace library
Role Title Holding Repository
Relation Name
associatedWith Anglo-Catholic Congress corporateBody
associatedWith Bristol Church Union corporateBody
associatedWith Catholic Union for Prayer corporateBody
associatedWith Church of England corporateBody
associatedWith Church Union (Great Britain) corporateBody
associatedWith Council for the Defence of Church Principles corporateBody
associatedWith English Church Union corporateBody
associatedWith Society of St Peter and St Paul corporateBody
Place Name Admin Code Country
Bristol (England)
High church movement

Corporate Body

Related Descriptions


Ark ID: w6nx4k5t

SNAC ID: 46579533