Farrell, James T. (James Thomas), 1904-1979

Alternative names
Dates:
Birth 1904-02-27
Death 1979-08-22
Americans
English

Biographical notes:

James T. Farrell (1904-1979) was an Irish-American novelist, short story writer, journalist, travel writer, poet, and literary critic. Born and raised in Chicago, Illinois, he attended the University of Chicago and published his first short story in 1929. He is best known for his Studs Lonigan trilogy and for his A note on Literary Criticism, in which he described two types of the American Marxist character.

From the guide to the James T. Farrell Collection, 1953-1961, (Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries)

American author.

From the description of James T. Farrell collection, 1936-1963. (Boston University). WorldCat record id: 70961670

Farrell was an American novelist.

From the description of Letters to Gail Borden, 1936-1937. (Harvard University). WorldCat record id: 612368064

James T. Farrell (1904-1979), the American novelist and critic, grew up on the South Side of Chicago and attended the University of Chicago for nearly three years in the 1920's. It was at the suggestion of Robert Morss Lovett, a University of Chicago professor, that Farrell transformed a short story about a boy named Studs Lonigan into a novel. The Studs Lonigan trilogy remains Farrell's best-known work.

From the guide to the Farrell, James T. Papers, 1930-1948, (Special Collections Research Center, University of Chicago Library 1100 East 57th Street Chicago, Illinois 60637 U.S.A.)

James T. Farrell was an American novelist and short story writer. Born on the south side of Chicago, his work was inhabited by characters and events he knew from the streets. A naturalist writer in the tradition of Dreiser, his prose was blunt and roughly-hewn, as exemplified by the Studs Lonigan Trilogy. Although his plain style seemed out of place in the literary experimentation of the 1940s, he continued to be a productive writer with a loyal following. His interest in socialist tenets led to a widely-read critical assessment of American literary criticism.

From the description of James Farrell letter to Walter [Goldwater], 1965 July 7. (Pennsylvania State University Libraries). WorldCat record id: 57256181

One letter (TLS) from author James T. Farrell to Elizabeth Schneider (English Department, University of Pennsylvania), re legal action to suppress his book, "Studs Lonigan". New York, NY May 1948.

From the description of James T. Farrell Letter, 1948. (University of California, Santa Barbara). WorldCat record id: 60461838

Author and critic.

From the description of Papers, 1929-1948 (inclusive). (University of Chicago Library). WorldCat record id: 52246366

James T. Farrell (1904-1979) was an American writer most famous for his fiction set in the city of Chicago.

From the description of James T. Farrell papers, circa 1960-1965. (University of Delaware Library). WorldCat record id: 657134475

James T. Farrell was an American novelist and poet of the mid-20th century.

From the description of Farrell, James T. poem Willie Collins' speaking, 19--?. (University of Georgia). WorldCat record id: 288524206

American journalist and novelist.

From the description of Literature and morality [Page proofs], ca. 1947 [manuscript]. (University of Virginia). WorldCat record id: 647812369

James T. Farrell (1904–1979) was an American writer most famous for his fiction set in the city of Chicago.

James T. Farrell was born in Chicago on February 27, 1904. Farrell was raised in Chicago and attended the University of Chicago. A good portion of his fiction is set in Chicago and focuses on working class and intellectual characters. Farrell published more than twenty-five novels during his lifetime, as well as numerous collections of stories and works of criticism, but he is best-known for his trilogy of novels focusing on the character Studs Lonigan, and for a series of five novels centered around the character Danny O'Neill. Farrell was also active in contemporary politics and is generally associated with writers of the American left who emerged during the 1930s and 1940s. In his later years, Farrell devoted much of his writing to a cycle of novels titled A Universe of Time which he began writing in the early 1960s and which he projected to approximately thirty titles. James T. Farrell died in 1979.

Biographical information derived from collection.

From the guide to the James T. Farrell papers, circa 1960–1965, (University of Delaware Library - Special Collections)

American author.

Born and raised in South Chicago, Farrell is best known for his Chicago-based Studs Lonigan trilogy, 1932-1935. Having dropped out of college to become a writer, Farrell settled in New York City, where he began a productive writing career. Besides Studs Lonigan, he published short stories, literary criticism, and poetry, and gave numerous lectures and speeches. Farrell was one of the most influential and well-educated novelists of the 1930s and 1940s, in the tradition of literary intellectuals combining left-wing politics and creative writing. He died in 1979.

From the description of James T. Farrell papers, 1949-1967. (Newberry Library). WorldCat record id: 585890003

American author.

Born in southwest Chicago in 1904 to immigrant Irish parents, James T. Farrell was the first of his working-class family to attend college. Throughout his life Farrell was involved in socialist and liberal committees and causes and was well educated in political and social issues. He was a prolific writer, establishing himself as a realist in the naturalistic tradition of Theodore Dreiser and Frank Norris. Perhaps Farrell's greatest achievement is the Studs Lonigan trilogy, published as a unit in 1935 and then the five books about Danny O'Neill, published between 1936 and 1953.

Farrell was married twice to Dorothy Butler and once to actress Hortense Alden, with whom he had two sons, Kevin and John.

In 1965 he settled down in Manhattan, where he had lived for many years, with his close friend Cleo Paturis. After his death in 1979, Paturis devoted herself to preserving his reputation as one of America's important authors.

From the description of James T. Farrell-Cleo Paturis papers, 1909-2006, bulk 1949-2004. (Newberry Library). WorldCat record id: 184986640

James Thomas Farrell, a prominent member of the American school of literary realism, was born on Chicago's southside to Irish Catholic parents in 1904. Farrell uses his ethnic background and childhood neighborhood as the basis for a triology about Irish working class life, of which.

"Studs Lonigan" (1936) is a centerpiece. Farrell wrote numerous novels and short stories based on the American working class experience in the tradition of Dreiser, Norris, and Sinclair.

From the description of Constable Correspondence, 1935-1946. (Temple University Libraries). WorldCat record id: 122543298

Loading...

Loading Relationships

Information

Permalink:
http://n2t.net/ark:/99166/w6ns0rxv
Ark ID:
w6ns0rxv
SNAC ID:
24096567

Subjects:

  • American poetry--20th century
  • Literature--American Fiction
  • American literature--20th century
  • American literature--Censorship
  • Publishers and Publishing
  • Censorship
  • Manuscripts, American
  • Censorship--History--20th century
  • American literature--Censorship--20th century
  • Book reviewing
  • Authors, American--Correspondence
  • Novelists, American
  • Obscenity (law)
  • Short stories
  • Literature--American Poetry
  • Novelists, American--20th century
  • Authors, American--20th century
  • Books--Reviews
  • Politics and literature
  • Law and literature
  • American literature
  • Authors, American
  • American literature--Irish American authors

Occupations:

  • Novelists
  • Authors, American
  • Authors

Places:

  • Great Britain (as recorded)
  • United States (as recorded)
  • Chicago (Ill.) (as recorded)
  • Illinois--Chicago (as recorded)